Treaty Partners Today

When the Treaty of Waitangi was signed on the the 6th of February 1840 at Waitangi, and elsewhere at different locations in New Zealand during 1840, it was a treaty signed between two parties. The first party comprised those hapū whose chiefs throughout New Zealand signed it, and the second party was the British Crown, whose representative Lieutenant-Governor William Hobson signed on its behalf.

In the present day context the two Treaty partners are Māori as tangata whenua (even though some iwi and hapū did not sign the Treaty) and the Crown. The term Crown encompasses the government of New Zealand and all non-Maori citizens and residents of New Zealand. The Wellington branch of NZSTI, as part of the latter party, decided to undertake a project to translate the Treaty into 30 languages. The name chosen for the project is The Treaty Times Thirty.

To find out more about the Treaty of Waitangi and its relevance today, go to, and click on the various links on the webpage.

By Ian Cormack